Events and Training

The Executive Committee meets the third Tuesday of every month (except December) at noon in the offices of the Oregon State Bar in Tigard, Oregon.  The executive committee meetings are open to the public.

The Section’s annual meeting is held in November, just before the November Executive Committee meeting.  The annual meeting is open to the public.

The Section has typically sponsored an annual continuing legal education (CLE) seminar. As November 2016, two are available on-demand from the Oregon State Bar:  Handling a VA Service Connected Disability Claim which was held November 2013 and Representing Military Veterans in Oregon which was held in May 2016.

In Spring 2017, the Military Veterans Law Section and the Oregon New Lawyers Division will begin regional Continuing Legal Education programs.  The first of these programs, Defending Veterans Against Financial Peril was presented April 18, 2017 with the assistance of the Consumer Law Section and the Oregon New Lawyers Division.

The remaining topics to be covered are the following:

  1. Women Veterans Issues
  2. LGBTQ Veterans Issues
  3. Aging and Elderly Veterans Issues
  4. Petty Criminal Fines and Homelessness

The next CLE is scheduled for the summer the Willamette Valley.  Check back for details or call Jaimie Fender, the CLE coordinator.